LIGHT – SCIENCE – DESIGN

The Project

The physicist doesn’t consider light as the designer. He sees it as a set of rays governed by geometric laws, or as electromagnetic waves traveling at the speed of light, or even as an ensemble of individual quantum photons, both particles and waves.

In Light-Science-Design, we proposed to design students to get inspired by these scientific visions of light and transpose them into their world.

Three types of projects have emerged; some with an educational purpose, some creating hybrid objects in between design and pedagogy, and some being kinds of setups witnessing the creative process of the designer himself.

The Show

The Light-Science-Design project was shown live at the ENSCI-Les Ateliers on june 2014.

The project, the making-off
The Team
Credits

LIGHT-SCIENCE-DESIGN

The Light Science Design project is a partnairship between the ENSCI-Les Ateliers and physicists from Université Paris Sud and CNRS. It was supported by the LABEX PALM, the Institut de Physique of the CNRS and Université Paris Sud.

It also benefited from the support of the Chair « La Physique Autrement » led by Fondation Paris-Sud and sponsored by Air Liquide.

The design
Atelier matériaux immatériaux : François Azambourg, Clémentine Chambon, Véronica Rodriguez
associated teacher : Noémie Lesartre – Chercheur doctorant : Elena Tosi Enseignant-Researcher-teacher responsible for the sound studio : Roland Cahen Consultant video : Laurent Milon Intervenants : Philippe Louget, Cédric Begon, Camille Jutant

The students
Guillaume Andre, Julian Auch, Samuel Barker, Camille Jego, Annelise Légaré, Thibaut Louvet, Baptiste Meyniel,Thibault Perrin, Roxane Philippon,Clara Rivière, Lucile Sauzet , Grégoire Schaller, Jérémie Strack-Gutton, Ragna Ragnarsdottir.

The Physics
Université Paris-Sud/CNRS : Julien Bobroff
Contact & infos
www.lightsciencedesign.fr

Contact

la
physique
autrement@gmail.com

LIGHT – SCIENCE – DESIGN

Le Projet, les grandes lignes

Le physicien ne voit pas la lumière comme le designer. Il l’interprète comme un jeu de rayons gouvernés par des lois géométriques, ou comme des ondes électromagnétiques se déplaçant à la vitesse de la lumière, ou même comme un ensemble de photons, à la fois corpuscules et ondes, vision quantique de la lumière.

Dans Light-Science-Design, nous avons proposé aux étudiants designers de s’inspirer de ces visions scientifiques pour les transposer dans leur univers.

Trois types de projets sont apparus ; certains avec une volonté d’explication pédagogique. D’autres visant la production d’objets hybrides entre design et pédagogie. Certains enfin allant plutôt vers des installations témoignant d’une démarche.

Le show

Le projet Light-SCience-Design a donné lieu à un rendu public en juin 2014 à l’ENSCI-Les Ateliers

Le projet, les coulisses
L'équipe
Crédits

LIGHT-SCIENCE-DESIGN

Le projet Light-Science-Design est le fruit d’un partenariat entre l’ENSCI-Les Ateliers et des physiciens de l’Université Paris Sud et du CNRS. Il a bénéficié du soutien du labex PALM, de l’Institut de Physique du CNRS, et de l’Université Paris Sud.

La conception de ce site a bénéficié du support de la Chaire « La Physique Autrement » portée par la Fondation Paris Sud et soutenue par le groupe Air Liquide.

Le design
Atelier matériaux immatériaux : François Azambourg, Clémentine Chambon, Véronica Rodriguez
Enseignante associée : Noémie Lesartre – Chercheur doctorant : Elena Tosi Enseignant-chercheur responsable du studio son : Roland Cahen Accompagnement vidéo : Laurent Milon Intervenants : Philippe Louget, Cédric Begon, Camille Jutant

Les étudiants
Guillaume Andre, Julian Auch, Samuel Barker, Camille Jego, Annelise Légaré, Thibaut Louvet, Baptiste Meyniel,Thibault Perrin, Roxane Philippon,Clara Rivière, Lucile Sauzet , Grégoire Schaller, Jérémie Strack-Gutton, Ragna Ragnarsdottir.

La Physique
Université Paris-Sud/CNRS : Julien Bobroff
Contact et infos
www.lightsciencedesign.fr

Contact

la
physique
autrement@gmail.com